Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Pistons: Projects

Our core competence is forging pistons and cylinder liners – highly revered by the motor sports industry. That’s why capricorn AUTOMOTIVE produces small series of wet and dry cylinder liners for OEMs and the motor sports industry.

Right from the start our team of engineers involves the client in the analysis of the exact requirements to find the best possible solution. Compliance to exact tolerances is guaranteed in the process by our state-of-the-art manufacture. Moreover, it underlines our status as “the supplier” of high performance cylinder liners.

capricorn’s in-house nickel-ceramic-coating-unit with automatised process control, further guarantees high quality regarding bore coating as well as adhesion. The extent of our expert knowledge regarding the honing of this material results in an extraordinary highperformance product that meets the high demands of OEM and the motor sports industry at all times.

Innovation needs impulse. That’s why capricorn AUTOMOTIVE in England cultivates a longterm and trustful partnership with Loughborough University. This relationship has already provided fundamental insights into the last remaining sector for significant performance enhancement – origin of friction loss inside cylinders. capricorn clients like yourself can directly benefit from these valuable insights.

capricorn/ Loughborough University investigation's paper

We consider it our job to always offer the best possible solution. Our wide range of experience – especially in regards to structural, thermal and tribodynamic characteristics during construction – supports and allows us to realise this philosophy. It’s the only way to further improve our solutions, even with complex problems in research and development.

Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Kolben: Projekte

Neben Schmiedekolben sind Laufbuchsen einer unserer Kernkompetenzen.
In Kleinserie für OEMs und für die Motorsportindustrie entwickelt und fertigt capricorn AUTOMOTIVE nasse und trockene Zylinderlaufbuchsen.

In Kooperation mit dem Kunden analysiert unser Ingenieurteam die exakten Bedürfnisse, um dann die optimale Lösung zu gestalten. Unsere “state of the art” Fertigung  sichert die exakte Einhaltung von Toleranzen und trägt so zu unserem Status als “Der Lieferant” von High Performance Zylinderlaufbuchsen bei.

capricorns Nickelkeramik Beschichtungsanlage verfügt über eine automatisierte Prozesskontrolle, so ist gleichzeitig eine hohe Qualität der Bohrungsbeschichtung als auch der Bindung gewährleistet. Unser Wissen über das Honen dieses Materials resultiert in einem absoluten Hochleistungsprodukt, das die Anforderungen der OEM und Motorsportindustrie erfüllt.

Innovation braucht Impulse. capricorn AUTOMOTIVE in England pflegt eine langjährige und vertrauensvolle Partnerschaft mit der Loughborough University. Aus dieser Verbindung gingen bereits grundlegende Erkenntnisse über die Entstehung von Reibungsverlusten im Zylinder hervor – dem wohl letzten verbliebenen Gebiet für eine signifikante Leistungssteigerung. Erkenntnisse, von denen Sie als Kunde unmittelbar profitieren.

Ein breites Spektrum an Erfahrung, vor allem hinsichtlich struktureller, thermischer und tribodynamischer Eigenschaften bei der Konstruktion, rechtfertigt unser Bekenntnis, immer die denkbar beste Lösung anzubieten. So können auch bei komplexen Problemstellungen in Forschung und Entwicklung die Lösungen stetig verbessert werden.